Layne and Demri

Today I decided to post some pictures of Layne and Demri. For those of you who don’t know, Layne Staley, the singer of Alice in Chains, was in the long time relationship with Demri Lara Parrot who sadly died in 1996 from drug overdose. It is believed that her death has overwhelmed Layne so much that he returned to addiction. You can read more about her on her FB tribute page.

Below you will find an article from Alternative Nation about their wedding that eventually did not happen.

source

The 20th anniversary of the death of late Alice In Chains frontman Layne Staley’s girlfriend Demri Parrott was over the weekend. Alice In Chains: The Untold Story author David de Sola shared some information with Alternative Nation about the wedding that never came to be between Staley and Parrott, and how the planned site of the wedding eventually was where a much sadder event took place.

“People who knew both of them well generally agree (and told me) that Layne never got over Demri’s death. He was already pretty reclusive in 1996, but after her death, there were only three recordings that I know of (Despiseley Brothers, 2 AIC songs, and a Pink Floyd cover for a movie soundtrack). He was supposed to record guest vocals for a song by Taproot, but his body was found shortly before a recording session was set to take place.

The last time Kathleen Austin – Demri’s mother – saw Layne was in 1997. He wanted a teddy bear that Demri had had with her in hospital. Austin got that bear back after it was found in Layne’s things after his death. She also has Demri’s engagement ring that Layne gave her. The engagement was called off, but she did pick out a dress. They had chosen Kiana Lodge on Bainbridge Island as the wedding venue, that’s why the private invitation-only memorial service for Layne’s family and close friends was held there in 2002.

Mike Starr said he was going to be best man at Layne and Demri’s wedding. Neither Demri’s mother nor Layne’s stepfather have been able to confirm that. Thinking about both of them yesterday and today, and what might have been. RIP Layne and Demri.”

Demri Parrott died on October 29, 1996.  Layne Staley died on April 5, 2002.

source

10 responses to “Layne and Demri

  1. He was probably not only devastated but maybe even had sense of guilt about the whole drug thing. Rip to both of them

  2. So many in the early 90s died from heroine addiction. I know some that died. The late 1980s and 1990s were a hay day for heroine…glad I survived and chose not to partake when given the option.. Many friends didn’t. And if they did…..the heroine sucked all the serotonin from their brain so it would no longer make them happy in the future. The unfortunate end result was suicide.

    • Recklessrhonda

      Bob Dylan said that Heroi n was better than sex….

    • Someone offered me heroin the night after my dad died. I had made a promise to myself in high school to never try it, or any other “hard” drugs.
      I didn’t try it that night, and still never will.

      • I’m with you. Heroin was serious shit and hard-core. Nobody I knew did it, and I would never even consider it. I’ve read too many tragic stories about it. Layne’s whole goal was to make sure his fans didn’t do it, or any drugs for that matter. He wanted us to know how bad it was and what it does to people. He would be really proud and happy for us!!

    • Cocaine was pretty popular too. So the speedball was very “popular”. Heroin was pretty serious and I don’t know any of my group, or class for that matter, who ever did it. Cocaine, Meth, Crank, a whole different story. That was heavy in my high school class of 90 all the way through 2020. My ex is still using.

  3. Recklessrhonda

    My heart aches for both of them….

  4. Look at those two smiling kids in that first photo… nothing bad should have happened to them. Life is beautiful and cruel… I hope their souls are together now with the kind of peace that was denied them in this world.

    • I’m with you. Heroin was serious shit and hard-core. Nobody I knew did it, and I would never even consider it. I’ve read too many tragic stories about it. Layne’s whole goal was to make sure his fans didn’t do it, or any drugs for that matter. He wanted us to know how bad it was and what it does to people. He would be really proud and happy for us!!

    • ❣️❤❣️❤❣️❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.