10 Artists That Layne Staley Loved

David Bowie

Prince

“Prince is probably one of my biggest idols, besides David Bowie. He’s one of the most amazing performers and songwriters of our time, I think, and I’m damn impressed with what he’s done.” (Rage 1993)

Black Sabbath

“I have two sisters, a brother, and my parents. They weren’t very musical. My mom kind of was. She used to sing. I’d say my first influence would be Black Sabbath, then Ozzy, then Ian Gillan with Deep Purple and Black Sabbath. The first record I ever picked up was Black Sabbath. It was either my mom’s or my dad’s album ! I just picked it out of their collection.” (RIP Magazine 1991)

Rage Against The Machine

“We went on tour with [them] on Lollapalooza, and they were great, an amazing bunch of guys. I made a point to wake up early and go see these guys play, and “Killing In The Name Of” is one of my favorite songs by them, in fact it is my favorite song. By the way Tom Morello, the guitar player, taught me how to play the guitar. So if I screw up, it’s his fault (Laughs).” (Rage 1993)

Ministry

Lords of the New Church

Skinny Puppy

Nirvana

“I’m sure these guys are real proud of what they’ve done, and I’m really proud of what they’ve done, for a band that was ridiculed, and made a mockery of by the press. They came back and destroy them with a great album, a great song, and a great video [“Heart Shaped Box].” (Rage 1993)

Heart

Blind Melon

“I know a lot of people that don’t agree with me that [“No Rain”] is a great song, and a good video, and they can all go to hell, because I think it’s great. Shannon, the singer, is a good friend of mine.” (Rage 1993)

AlternativeNation.net | 10 Artists That Layne Staley Loved

8196a4c9

Zapisz

Zapisz

Leave a Reply

